Your needs, this model
Does it fit your priorities?
Does Aquael's 2–30 US-gallon label place a 10-gallon freshwater aquarium inside the stated range?
Yes, 10 US gallons is within the exact US table's printed 2–30 US-gallon interval for item 113835. Aquael pairs that range with 10–120 L, whose 10-liter lower endpoint is not an exact conversion of 2 US gallons; read the US column as a starting label, not as a stocking-load guarantee.
Explore this need in the finder →Does the extra sponge give item 113835 a documented media-basket volume?
No. Aquael describes a sponge filter and an extra sponge in this package but publishes no loose-media basket litres. The 0.1 L minimum-media-basket finder choice therefore does not count a sponge as a known volume, and the filter should not be selected as a basket-volume match.
Explore this need in the finder →Can item 113835 avoid a below-tank canister location, and what installation space remains necessary?
Yes. The PAT MINI is an internal filter, not a below-tank canister, but it needs room inside the display for its body, submerged outlet and removal during sponge cleaning. Aquael describes suction cups and an edge bracket; the generic manual says keep it submerged and account for evaporation when setting its height.
Explore this need in the finder →The US-localized Aquael table separates the powered PAT MINI FILTER (EXTRA SPONGE INCL.), item 113835, from a standard PAT MINI FILTER, item 120623. This review covers the 113835 package only. Aquael prints the same 2–30 US-gallon tank interval for both, but the extra-sponge bundle has its own power and listed-output row: 3 W and 105 US gal/h, paired with 400 L/h. The model table does not give an aquarium-side flow measurement or a minimum adjustable rate. Treat the range and output as manufacturer specifications, not as a guarantee for a particular stocking level.
What item 113835 adds—and what the page leaves open
The exact US table names this configuration “PAT MINI FILTER (EXTRA SPONGE INCL.)” and lists article number 113835. It shares the standard model’s 1.5 × 2.1 × 5.5 in body dimensions, 2–30 US-gallon / 10–120 L label, adjustable performance, directional outlet and included mechanical media. The extra sponge changes the supplied package, not the pump’s published tank-size interval. A previous Aquael catalogue described item 113835 as the version with an extra dense sponge; the current US-localized table confirms an extra sponge but does not specify its density. If the reason for choosing this set is a particular pore size or juvenile-livestock safeguard, verify the foam and exact contents in the seller’s box rather than relying on an older package illustration.
The paired tank labels need careful reading. Aquael prints a lower boundary of 2 US gallons alongside 10 L, and those two figures are not exact conversions. The finder retains the stated US-gallon interval because the US table labels that column explicitly; its endpoint is a maker’s aquarium-size claim, not a stocking recommendation. Likewise, the flow row pairs 105 US gal/h with 400 L/h, values that are close but not exact when converted. An older generic PAT Mini manual gives 397 L/h and 105 US gal/h, while a 2024 catalogue gives different power data for legacy PAT Mini references. Those older sources do not identify a bridge to every current US package. The checked US table is used for item 113835’s 3 W and 105 US gal/h; confirm the item label and seller package before purchase.
Placement and flow are the practical decision
PAT MINI is an internal filter: its sponge and pump sit in the aquarium, so no cabinet, external hose run or below-tank canister position is required. Aquael describes a suction-cup holder and a bracket that can hook over a tank edge. That gives two mounting approaches, but it still consumes space inside the display and needs enough clearance to lift the sponge and pump out for service. The listing’s compact 1.5 × 2.1 × 5.5 in dimensions help estimate the body footprint; leave additional room for the outlet, wiring and removal rather than treating the body measurements as installation clearance.
The front control adjusts pump performance, and the outlet can be directed. Those are useful choices when planning water movement in a small freshwater aquarium, but the manufacturer does not publish a minimum flow or a tested installed rate. The generic linked manual describes an optional venturi hose and air regulator for aeration; the exact US item page does not turn that into a quantified oxygenation result. Set outlet direction and flow only after checking the livestock’s needs and the instructions for the exact version. A high gallon-per-hour label alone cannot establish gentle flow, filtration turnover in your tank, or suitability for high waste.
Sponge upkeep is not a media-basket specification
The PAT MINI uses a shaped sponge rather than a documented loose-media basket. Aquael says the sponge provides mechanical filtration and a surface for beneficial bacteria, and replacement sponges are sold in standard, CARBOMAX and PHOSMAX versions. The manufacturer describes CARBOMAX as activated-carbon sponge for chemical contaminants and discoloration, and PHOSMAX as phosphate-absorbing sponge. Those media options are not interchangeable claims about biological capacity, and none has a published litre basket figure on the PAT MINI page. A request for a minimum measured media basket therefore cannot be verified for this model; the sponge is not assigned an invented volume.
The manual’s useful service point is to rinse the sponge in water removed during aquarium maintenance when the pump’s performance has fallen, preserving its bacterial community better than rinsing it under untreated tap water. It also instructs the user to unplug the filter before removing or cleaning it and to keep the unit fully submerged; best effect is described at about 3 cm below the water surface, with evaporation considered when choosing mounting height. Treat that as an instruction to check the exact included leaflet and waterline, not as a universal minimum-depth rating. The leaflet’s technical table is a generic PAT Mini reference and reports 3.3 W, which does not exactly match the current US table’s 3 W for item 113835.
How it differs from other internal choices
The 113835’s most distinctive documented feature is the extra sponge bundle, not a larger supported tank range than item 120623. The standard item is listed at 4.5 W and 119 US gal/h paired with 400 L/h; item 113835 is listed at 3 W and 105 US gal/h paired with the same 400 L/h. Because the paired flow units do not reconcile identically and the package descriptions differ, compare exact item numbers rather than treating the two rows as a finish choice. Aquael’s Turbo Mini Bio is a separate internal model with a 0.1 L loose-media container and an explicit 10–80 L tank label; PAT MINI instead has a stated 2–30 US-gallon interval and no quantified basket. These are different matching facts, not a ranking of filtration quality.
Item 113835 is worth considering when the internal arrangement, adjustable outlet and additional sponge in the stated package fit the plan. It is a weaker match when a measured media-basket volume, a documented high-waste rating, a known minimum flow, a confirmed electrical edition or zero in-tank footprint is essential. The maker’s tank range does not answer those questions.
Verify the exact package before ordering
Confirm that the offer is powered PAT MINI item 113835, not item 120623, a replacement sponge pack or a legacy item 107715. Check whether the extra sponge is actually included and what density it has; the current US table does not state the density. Inspect the unit’s rating label for voltage and frequency, which the localized page does not publish, and follow the exact manual for safe installation and service. Ensure the filter can remain submerged, that its outlet can be aimed appropriately, and that the aquarium has room for the body and maintenance removal. Aquael’s page-associated image depicts the PAT MINI form but shows a legacy 107715 retail carton; it is not evidence of the current 113835 box contents.
Source basis: Aquael’s US PAT Mini page and version table, the linked multilingual PAT-Mini manual, English operating section, Aquael’s 2024 product catalogue and its 2023–2024 catalogue. Checked 2026-11-01. This is source-based analysis, not a hands-on test or ownership report.
Key specifications
Key details at a glance
| Published range lower bound | 2 US gal |
|---|---|
| Published range upper bound | 30 US gal |
| US manufacturer item number | 113835 |
| Manufacturer-listed included media | one PAT Mini filter sponge / one additional sponge included by item 113835 package description |
| Maximum listed flow rate | 105 US GPH |
| Maximum listed flow rate (paired maker value) | 400 LPH |
| Adjustable flow control | Yes |
Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.
Sources for this review
Sources for this assessment
- Aquael US PAT Mini product page and two-version table
- Aquael US Internal filters category page
- Aquael PAT-Mini multilingual manual; English operating section
- Aquael 2024 product catalogue; legacy PAT Mini technical row and replacement-sponge table
- Aquael 2023–2024 catalogue; PAT Mini base and extra-dense-sponge SKU table
- Aquael US chemical filter-media catalogue
- Aquael PAT Mini product-page-associated gallery image
Start with your tank and installation constraints
Compare supported tank-volume intervals, external versus internal arrangements, installation space and media needs. An upper-only capacity claim cannot establish a complete volume fit, and the finder cannot infer your fish load.
