Your needs, this model
Does it fit your priorities?
Does the earlier HYPERMAX 4500's published US range reach 400 gallons?
Yes. The archived US product page and leaflet print 50–400 US gal for item 131381. They also print 200–1500 L, which is not an exact conversion of those gallon endpoints; neither label rates fish load. A compliant below-waterline installation is required.
Explore this need in the finder →Is the old 15.9 L capacity one main basket?
No. Aquael lists four 3.6 L baskets, plus a 1.5 L prefilter, and labels 15.9 L as total media capacity and as bucket capacity in a separate table. Those figures should not be added together. The US page names media in two filled baskets but does not state its exact US amount.
Explore this need in the finder →How does the archived HYPERMAX 4500 differ from the 4500 BT?
Aquael lists item 131381 as HYPERMAX 4500 and separately describes item 132256 HYPERMAX 4500 BT as the latest app-controlled version. The older page documents a local electronic panel and two media-filled baskets, while the newer US page documents Bluetooth app modes and two empty baskets; check the exact box rather than assuming a BT feature or package.
Explore this need in the finder →Aquael's archived US page identifies an earlier-generation HYPERMAX 4500, item 131381, distinct from current-reference HYPERMAX 4500 BT item 132256. The old page prints a different lower volume endpoint and describes two media-filled baskets; the later BT app claim does not transfer backward. The archive does not establish present availability, so this is an earlier-generation comparison, not a current-stock claim.
Read the US interval as printed, not as a precise conversion
The US page and leaflet print 50–400 US gallons paired with 200–1500 L. Those pairs do not convert exactly: 200 L is about 52.8 US gallons and 1500 L about 396 gallons. Preserve both labels rather than silently harmonizing them; the finder uses Aquael's printed US-gallon interval. It is not a livestock-load or water-quality guarantee. The old and BT ranges overlap broadly, so volume alone cannot distinguish them.
Aquael lists 4500 L/h / 1188 US gal/h maximum pump capacity, 18–36 W and 200 cm / about 79 inches maximum head; none is installed-flow measurement. The table calls the bucket 15.9 L and lists four 3.6 L baskets. The page separately breaks its filtration-capacity figure into 14.4 L of main media plus a 1.5 L lid prefilter. Do not add the vessel and media figures as separate compartments or treat them as one basket. The US leaflet rounds the total to 4.2 US gal and each tray to 0.95 US gal.
Installation is a requirement, not a preference
The exact-model manual requires the canister below aquarium water level and no more than 150 cm from valves to water surface. The US leaflet gives dimensions around 21.85 inches tall with a 14.17-inch square footprint. Leave room for the lid, valves, four hoses and wet media service; the separate 200 cm maximum-head figure does not replace the stricter placement condition.
The system has two inlet and two outlet lines, 19/25 mm hoses and a self-priming plunger. Aquael's manual tells the user to keep the blue IN and red OUT valves as open as possible in normal operation; the flow is changed at the control panel rather than by constricting the valves. Long loose U-shaped hose runs can make venting difficult. Startup can bring a temporary burst of air and extra noise while the automatic venting system clears itself. The four built-in wheels help move the full canister, but they do not establish that a particular stand's shelf or floor can bear its filled weight.
Its media package is a point of difference, but verify the box
The archived US product page describes four baskets and says two arrive filled with BioCeraMax 1200 and CarboMax; the other two are empty. It also lists 10 PPI prefilter, 20 PPI and 30 PPI sponges. The page's footnote gives 1 L of BioCeraMax 1200 and 1 L of CarboMax Plus only for a package outside the United States. It does not state the exact media volumes for the US item, so those quantities should not be assumed. The old product still offers substantial room for different media choices, but its actual included loading is part of the retailer's version check.
Aquael describes the HYPERMAX 4500 as electronically adjustable in ten steps, with a local control panel and fault signaling. The page does not document the later BT model's smartphone app, day/night schedule or Bluetooth connection. Buyers comparing used or older listings should match the exact item and control panel rather than assuming a HYPERMAX 4500 without the BT suffix gains the later app functions. Aquael's current BT page identifies the app edition as the latest version; it is a distinct model entry, not merely a color or retailer bundle.
Maintenance and unresolved retail details
The lid-mounted prefilter can be removed without lifting the whole canister. Aquael advises checking it as performance falls and cleaning roughly every one to four weeks depending on conditions. Rinse inner baskets in drained aquarium water, not tap water; the manual recommends cleaning or replacing cartridges at least yearly. The removed prefilter may leak and dirty water can spill at lid service, so plan for a catch basin. These are maker directions, not tested intervals.
The old US material supports a 24 V operating voltage but does not establish the supplied adapter's AC input; check its label for local compatibility. The archive gives no current stock, seller condition, UPC or exact US amounts of included media. Its page-linked image depicts the model but uses a global image code and does not verify a retail carton.
When an earlier 4500 belongs in a comparison
Keep item 131381 in a comparison when an aquarium falls within the page's printed 50–400 US-gallon range, the stand has a compliant below-waterline location, and the buyer is deliberately considering an earlier model with four 3.6 L baskets and the older package description. It is not the safe default for a buyer who requires an app, verified present-day availability or an exact package-media amount. Neither the wide interval nor the maximum-flow number is a high-bioload certification; Aquael provides no stocking-density validation for this model in the sources reviewed.
Before considering an older offer, confirm that it is HYPERMAX 4500 item 131381 rather than HYPERMAX 4500 BT item 132256, verify the power-supply label and hose set, ask what media and plumbing are physically included, and inspect seller condition and return terms. Price and current availability are not asserted here. This is a review of official model evidence, not an ownership or performance test.
Primary references: Aquael US archived HYPERMAX 4500 page, Aquael US HYPERMAX 4500 leaflet, Aquael HYPERMAX 4500 operating manual and Aquael US HYPERMAX 4500 BT page.
Key specifications
Key details at a glance
| Published range lower bound | 50 US gal |
|---|---|
| Published range upper bound | 400 US gal |
| Media-basket volume | 3.6 L |
| Main media baskets | 4 |
| Manufacturer-supported water types | freshwater / saltwater |
| US manufacturer item number | 131381 |
| Body width | 14.17 in |
| Body height | 21.85 in |
| Manufacturer-listed included media | 10 PPI prefilter sponge / 20 PPI sponge / 30 PPI sponge / BioCeraMax 1200 media (stated as included in a filled basket) / CarboMax media (stated as included in a filled basket) |
| Maximum listed flow rate | 1188 US GPH |
| Maximum listed flow rate (paired maker value) | 4500 LPH |
Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.
Sources for this review
Sources for this assessment
Start with your tank and installation constraints
Compare supported tank-volume intervals, external versus internal arrangements, installation space and media needs. An upper-only capacity claim cannot establish a complete volume fit, and the finder cannot infer your fish load.
